Elephants & Otters & Seals, Oh My!

This past week was a huge milestone for me as I completed my very first 5k race! The Summer Solstice 5k was at the Oregon Zoo, which made for an experience all the participants will remember, including me!

The elephants enjoying their new exhibit at the Oregon Zoo. Photo courtesy Oregon Zoo. 

Even though this was just a fun run, it was a huge achievement for me as I’m journeying toward a healthier lifestyle. The hills at the zoo are no joke, and there were times I seriously considered quitting, but before the race started, I looked through all the encouraging words my friends had sent me. Every time I wanted to quit I remembered their encouragement, and that’s what got me through. I was dead last, but I couldn’t be prouder!

IMG_0128

Leave a Reply

