Opportunity Comes Knocking….

Over Spring Break, I had the awesome opportunity to help out one of my professors by participating in a panel discussion for the Ag Relations Council. After a brief moment of terror when we got there and I realized that I was speaking to some amazing professionals, I really enjoyed myself. It really got me to thinking about some of the amazing opportunities that I have had at Oklahoma State.

I have been lucky enough to have traveled around the Midwest. I went to Nashville last year with Collegiate Cattlewomen to attend National Cattleman’s Beef Association Cattle Industry Convention, and this August I will hopefully be attending Ag Media Summit in Buffalo, New York. But it’s not just the traveling that has been special, although it is always fun to talk to my family and have them ask me where I will be travelling to this month.

The networking opportunities that I have been apart of at Oklahoma State have made me so excited to head into the agricultural industry. I’m not nearly as scared to graduate as I thought I would be because I have been able to meet professionals who are doing what I hope to do and learn from them.

Our professors here do a really great job of encouraging us to get out there and get feedback from the industry while we are in school so that we are prepared when we graduate. A lot of people say that there is a shock when you graduate, and I expect that. But I know that because of my professors, I won’t have to worry about the quality of work that I am creating.

I know it sounds cheesy, but Oklahoma State has been so good to me in the past two years.  I wouldn’t be the person that I am today without being here, and I am proud to say that I am a Cowboy for life. 

Leave a Reply

